Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations: MLA Citation

Works Cited

For more information on MLA citations, click here to see the guidelines on the Purdue OWL website. You can also view a sample MLA paper and a sample Works Cited page.

If you're writing an annotated bibliography, you can check out their guide on how to write an annotated bibliography, or look at some sample annotations

Sample MLA Paper from Purdue OWL

In-Text Citations

One author

(Author last name page number)

(Clark 56)

Two authors
(Author 1 and Author 2 page number)

(Hanson and Avidan 75)

Three or more authors
(Author last name et al. page numbers)

(Hannigan et al. 179)

Book

Last Name, First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.

Satrapi, Marjane. The Complete Persepolis. New York, Pantheon Books, 2007.

Alexander, Michelle. The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness. New York, The New Press, 2010.

Essay in a Collection

Last name, First name. "Title of Essay." Title of Collection, edited by Editor's Name(s), Publisher, Year, Page range of entry.

Perkins Gilman, Charlotte. "The Yellow Wallpaper." The Norton Anthology of American Literature, vol. 2, edited by Nina Baym, W. W. Norton and Company, 1994, 645-656. 

YouTube Video

Author last name, First name. “Title of Video.” YouTube, uploaded by Name of Channel, day month year, URL

Cox, Elizabeth. "The Surprising Link Between Stress and Memory." YouTube, uploaded by TED-Ed, 4 September 2018, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyg7lcU4g8E. 

Green, John. "What is the real unemployment rate?" YouTube, uploaded by Vlogbrothers, 10 January 2017. https://www.youtube.com/watchv=Hn6JWzoKv14.

Academic Article

One author
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages, Title of database, URL. Accessed day month year.

​Pagliaro, Michael. “Is a Picture Worth a Thousand Words? Determining the Criteria for Graphic Novels with Literary Merit.” The English Journal, vol. 103, no. 4, 2014, pp. 31-46, JSTOR, https://www.jstor.org/stable/24484218. Accessed 3 March 2017.

Two authors
Last name, First name and First name Last name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Vol. number, no. issue number, year, page numbers, Title of database, URL. Accessed day month year.

Nonis, Sarath A. and Gail I. Hudson. "Academic Performance of College Students: Influence of Time Spent Studying and Working." Journal of Education for Business, vol. 81, no. 3, 2006, pp. 151-159, https://www.researchgate.net/publication/254344820. Accessed 1 February 2019.

Three or more authors
Author Last name, First name et al. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Volume, Issue, Year, pages, Title of database, URL. Accessed day month year.

Lepp, Andrew et al. "The Relationship Between Cell Phone Use, Academic Performance, Anxiety, and Satisfaction With Life in College Students." Computers in Human Behavior, vol. 31, 2013, pp. 342-350, Science Direct, https://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0747563213003993. Accessed 5 June 2018. 

 

Note: If the article is not from the a library database,  you can skip adding the title of the database.

Webpage

Last name, First name. “Title of web page”. Title of website. URL. Accessed date.

“Asthma: Data, Statistics, and Surveillance.” Center for Disease Control and Prevention website. https://www.cdc.gov/asthma/asthmadata.htm. Accessed 26 September 2018.

Newspaper Article

Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.

Maheshwari, Sapna. “Hold the Donuts, Says Newly Named Dunkin’”. The New York Times, 25 September 2018. 

Image

Last name, First name. “Title of Work.” Name of institution, date of creation, URL, date accessed.

VanGogh, Vincent. “Self-portrait With Straw Hat.” The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1887, https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436532, Accessed 27 September 2019.

Himsaini007. “Librarian.png.” Wikimedia Commons, 2016, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Librarian.png, Accessed 27 September 2019.

Questions?

If you have any questions about your citations, email reference@annamaria.edu.

Mondor-Eagen Library | Anna Maria College
50 Sunset Lane, Paxton, Massachusetts 01612