LibGuides CMS: Literature &amp; Writing: Finding Articles

Literature Databases & Journals

Biography : In Context This link opens in a new window
Discover the world's most influential people by searching narrative biographies, news, magazine, and multimedia content. Includes some peer-reviewed material
Credo Academic Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and subject-specific titles, as well as 200,000+ image, audio, and video files. Includes research supports such as Mind Map tool, Research Quick Tips, and Topic Browse.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Includes some peer reviewed material (no search filter for peer-review).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico. JSTOR provides access to 5,000+ journals in 50+ disciplines. Secondary content is peer-reviewed. See "Search Help" for more info.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes some peer-reviewed material.

Literature Journals

American Literature
American Literature is a literary journal published by Duke University Press and sponsored by the American Literature Section of the Modern Language Association. Coverage includes the contributions and works of American authors.
American Literary History
Through essays, position papers, and commentaries, along with reviews, interviews, and previously unpublished diaries, letters, and stories, American Literary History surveys the contested field of US culture.
The Chaucer Review
The Chaucer Review publishes studies of language, sources, social and political contexts, aesthetics, and associated meanings of Chaucer’s poetry, as well as articles on medieval literature, philosophy, theology, and mythography relevant to study of the poet and his contemporaries, predecessors, and audiences.

Logging into Library Resources

To access our catalog and databases remotely, you'll need to log in with your library credentials. Enter your library account number, which should be on the back of your student ID, if you were issued one (look for a barcode labeled Mondor-Eagen Library and a 14-digit number beginning with "204640..."). Your library number may also be in your WebAMC account.

Your password will likely be your last name in all capital letters. If your last name is fewer than four letters, add letters from your first name.

For example:
Taylor Smith = SMITH
Justin Ore = JORE
Sarah Ng = SANG

If you have a hyphenated name, or have multiple names, use whichever comes last.

For example:

Colin Harris-Murray = MURRAY

Caroline Rivera Gomez = GOMEZ

If you have any difficulty logging in or using our online resources, email library@annamaria.edu.

Inter-Library Loan

If you want to use a book or article that we do not have at the library, you can submit an interlibrary loan request for us to get the item for you. This request is free, but will take time (about 3-5 business days, possibly more if it's a physical book).

To request an item through interlibrary loan, please fill out the form here.