Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mondor-Eagen Library | Anna Maria College
50 Sunset Lane, Paxton, Massachusetts 01612
NFPA - National Fire Codes This link opens in a new window
The best source for access to the ANSI-approved NFPA codes and standards that govern fire, electrical, and building safety in the U.S. and around the globe. [*This resource requires additional login credentials; please contact firstname.lastname@example.org for access.*]
Fire Science Databases
Current AMC students, faculty and staff have access to the following databases. (You may be asked to log in first!)
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Articles from international newspapers & publications; broadcast transcripts; company & financial information; legal decisions & federal regulations.
Science and Medical Databases with Information on Fire
BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window
A variety of peer-reviewed research articles offered through BioMed Central, an open access publisher. Users can either browse the list of journals or register to be able to use the search field.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A nursing and allied health research database provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related agencies and organizations.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Fire Science Periodicals
Fire-Rescue Magazine (print)
"FireRescue Magazine reaches fire chiefs, company officers and firefighters with “devoted to the interests of firefighters worldwide” content that gives fire-rescue professionals the education they want and need."
Fire Chief (online)
"A magazine for fire departments featuring articles from fire officers in the U.S. and overseas on a wide variety of topics that are important to today's fire chief."
Fire Engineering (print)
"Fire Engineering is an American magazine which provides training, education, and management information for fire and emergency services personnel. Articles are written by experts in the fire service and focus on lessons-learned."
Firehouse's mission is to provide fire/rescue professionals with information, news, training, and community to help them do their jobs safer and more efficiently. In addition, Firehouse.com will leverage its status as an influential media outlet to promote new safety initiatives and policies.
The International Fire Service Journal of Leadership and Management (online)
The International Fire Service Journal of Leadership and Management (IFSJLM) is a refereed journal that publishes articles of interest to an international audience of academics and in-service fire and emergency management professionals. The principal thrust and primary impetus for the creation of IFSJLM is to offer the international fire service articles focusing on leadership and management. In addition, the journal provides a book review section.
The Journal of Emergency Management (print + online)
The Journal of Emergency Management is edited, written and peer reviewed by a nationally recognized team of the country's foremost, hands-on EM experts. They include top professionals from the public and private sectors who offer real world experience and practical solutions, and leading academics who provide perspective and analysis on the latest research and studies.
A to Z List of Electronic Journals
A comprehensive list of all the journals available through all of our databases and subscriptions. Includes links to the abstracts and/or full text of the articles.