LibGuides CMS: Database &amp; Journals by Subject: Language & Literature

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes some peer-reviewed material. Best for academic research.

American Literature in Credo
Contains reference ebooks, general information, and term concepts on the topic of American Literature.

Books & Authors This link opens in a new window
Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics. Best for discovering non-academic books.

British Literature in Credo
A guide to British literature available in the Core Credo Collection.

Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations™ is a new, free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
Access general interest magazines and key serials in a single resource. Best for general research. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico. JSTOR provides access to 5,000+ journals in 50+ disciplines. Secondary content is peer-reviewed. See "Search Help" for more info.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date biographies, overviews, full-text criticisms, audio interviews, and reviews on writers from all eras. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
NoveList Plus (Select) This link opens in a new window
A fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for more than 125,000 fiction titles.

Journals

American Literary History
Through essays, position papers, and commentaries, along with reviews, interviews, and previously unpublished diaries, letters, and stories, American Literary History surveys the contested field of US culture.
The Chaucer Review
The Chaucer Review publishes studies of language, sources, social and political contexts, aesthetics, and associated meanings of Chaucer’s poetry, as well as articles on medieval literature, philosophy, theology, and mythography relevant to study of the poet and his contemporaries, predecessors, and audiences.