LibGuides CMS: Database &amp; Journals by Subject: Health Science

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Best for academic research.
BioMedCentral This link opens in a new window
A variety of peer-reviewed research articles offered through BioMed Central, an open access publisher. Users can either browse the list of journals or register to be able to use the search field.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A nursing and allied health research database provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database. Additional material includes Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations™ is a new, free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs.
Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Find up-to-date information on a range of health care topics. Best for students, researchers, and health care professionals.
MEDLINE Plus Health Information This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other health-related agencies and organizations.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
A growing collection of searchable biomedical books.

Nursing in Credo
A guide to the nursing content available in the Core Credo Collection.

Ovid: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new window
Ovid offers the single greatest collection of current journals, books, and databases for nurses involved in practice, education, and research.
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature located at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
ScienceDirect: Nursing & Health Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search articles from Nursing and Health Science journals including: Heart & Lung, Journal of Emergency Nursing, Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing (JOGNN), Journal of Pediatric Nursing, Journal of Professional Nursing, Nursing for Women’s Health. ScienceDirect is a leading discovery platform of peer-reviewed literature from Elsevier journals and books, including thousands of open access articles.

Journals

Journal of Gerontological Nursing
The Journal of Gerontological Nursing is a monthly, peer-reviewed journal publishing clinically relevant original articles on the practice of gerontological nursing across the continuum of care in a variety of health care settings, for more than 40 years.
Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic & Neonatal Nursing (JOGNN)
JOGNN leads the development of nursing knowledge in the specialties of women's health care; prenatal, intrapartum, and postpartum care; and neonatal care by publishing articles on related aspects of nursing and interdisciplinary research, practice, and policy.
Journal of Pediatric Nursing
The Journal of Pediatric Nursing: Nursing Care of Children and Families (JPN) is interested in publishing evidence-based practice, quality improvement, theory, and research papers on a variety of topics from US and international authors.
Journal of Professional Nursing
Keep pace with continuing changes in legislative, regulatory, ethical, and professional standards that affect your nursing career with this bimonthly scholarly journal. Each issue presents observations by nursing leaders on the diverse roles of baccalaureate- and graduate-prepared nurses.
Nursing for Women's Health
Nursing for Women's Health (NWH) is the practice journal of the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses. The mission of NWH is to translate evidence into nursing practice to improve health outcomes for individuals, families, and populations.