LibGuides CMS: Business: Find Articles

Business Databases

Below is a list of business related databases available through the Mondor-Eagen Library. Databases are starred due to quality/quantity of content, ease of use, or overall popularity. Read descriptions of databases before using to make sure they fit your research needs.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Quickly access articles from a database of scholarly journals and other trusted periodicals. Includes some peer-reviewed material. Best for academic research.
Business This link opens in a new window
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
Business : Economics & Theory This link opens in a new window
Discover content useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, and more. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
Business : Insights This link opens in a new window
Find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports. Includes some peer-reviewed material. Best for market research.
Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Search millions of articles covering all aspects of communications, including advertising, public relations, and more. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations™ is a new, free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs.
Insurance & Liability This link opens in a new window
Discover information about physical and intellectual asset protection, from individuals to multinational corporations. Includes some peer-reviewed material.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Artstor, Ithaka S+R, and Portico. JSTOR provides access to 5,000+ journals in 50+ disciplines. Secondary content is peer-reviewed. See "Search Help" for more info.
Leadership & Management This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative periodical content covering topics such as 21st-century skills, organizational dynamics and leadership, adult learning and continuing education, and more. Updated daily, this library resource is useful for researchers or any professional interested in career development. Includes some peer-reviewed material.

Management & Leadership in Credo
A guide to content on management and leadership available in the Core Credo Collection.

Peterson's Career Prep This link opens in a new window
Peterson's Career Prep offers access to clear-cut information on resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and job networking. Personalized career assessments focus on a user's interests, experience, skills, academic history, values, personality, and workplace preferences. [First-time users will need to create an account!]
Vocations & Careers This link opens in a new window
Research a vocation, find an appropriate institution of learning, and get assistance on job searches and maintaining a career. Includes some peer-reviewed content.

Research Tips

All databases will have different interfaces and search parameters. The simplest way of searching is by using keywords from your research question and search parameters required by your professor. Keywords are made up of the most important concepts in your research question.

For example, if the research topic is "How does climate change impact the tourism industry in Hawaii", I can pull out the phrase "climate change", and the words "impact", tourism", "industry" and "Hawaii".

Tips:

Start with a broad search (fewest keywords), then narrow your focus based on what is interesting and available. If your search nets too many results, try adding more keywords or search parameters like publication date, content type, or preferred format.
Try searching for similar words or concepts. For example, if you're looking for information on climate change, you can also try searching for the phrases "global warming", or "global climate change".
Do several different searches with different combinations of keywords. There is no magic search that will have all the sources you need, so try several to find the results that work best for your research project.
If the database you're searching has multiple boxes for you to enter search terms, enter one term per box. This makes it easy to switch your search terms around. If the database only has one search box, put the word AND between your search terms. For example, "tourism AND Hawaii".

Research Tips Research Guide
Tips and tricks for doing the most efficient searches on databases and the web.

Current Periodicals (in the library)

Harvard Business Review
General management magazine, covers a wide range of topics that are relevant to various industries, management functions, and geographic locations. These include leadership, negotiation, strategy, operations, marketing, and finance
Public Management
Public Management (PM) is a source of local government management information dedicated exclusively to the public sector practitioner. Designed for quick and informative reading, articles deal with issues of common concern to local government managers worldwide.
Bloomberg Businessweek
Bloomberg Businessweek is a weekly business and financial magazine providing information and opinions on current events and market trends nationally and internationally.
Worcester Business Journal
Worcester Business Journal is a media organization providing business news, information and analysis for Central Massachusetts' business owners and decision makers.