Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citations: Chicago Citation

Chicago Citations

Chicago style uses footnotes as in-text citations, and includes a bibliography page at the end of the paper as well, so you need to use both styles of citation for each source - the footnotes version in the text of the paper, and the bibliography style at the end of your paper. The citations in the footnotes and bibliography are slightly different, so make sure you pay attention to the formatting. You can get more information on Chicago style formatting and citations on the Purdue OWL website. For guidelines on how to create footnotes in Microsoft Word, click here. For guidelines on how to format the paper and bibliography, click here

To view a sample NB (notes-bibliography) style Chicago paper (one with footnotes), click here, and for an author-date style Chicago paper, click here.

The guidelines below are for NB (notes-bibliography) style Chicago papers!

Sample NB Chicago Paper

Books

Footnote:
First name Last name, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

Michelle Alexander, The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness (New York: The New Press, 2010), 45.

Bibliography:
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

Alexander, Michelle. The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness. New York: The New Press, 2010.

Essay in a Collection

Footnote:
Author First name Last name, “Title of Essay or Chapter,” in Title of Book, ed. Editor First name Last name (Location: Publisher, year), page range of essay.    

Charlotte Perkins Gilman, "The Yellow Wallpaper," in The Norton Anthology of American Literature, vol. 2, ed. Nina Baym (New York: W. W. Norton and Company, 1994), 645-656. 

Bibliography:
Author Last name, First name. “Title of Essay or Chapter,” in Title of Book, edited by Editor First name Last name, page range of essay. Location: Publisher, year.

 Perkins Gilman,Charlotte. "The Yellow Wallpaper," in The Norton Anthology of American Literature, vol. 2, edited by Nina Baym, 645-656. New York: W. W. Norton and Company, 1994.

Youtube Video

Footnote: 
“Title of the Video,” YouTube video, length of the video, posted by "Username," Month day, year, URL.

“The Surprising Link Between Stress and Memory,” YouTube video, 4:44, posted by “TED-Ed,” September 4, 2018, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyg7lcU4g8E.

Bibliography:
“Title of the Video,” YouTube video, length of the video, posted by "Username," Month day, year, URL.

“The Surprising Link Between Stress and Memory,” YouTube video, 4:44, posted by “TED-Ed,” September 4, 2018, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hyg7lcU4g8E.

Image

Bibliography:

First Name Last Name, Title of Work, date of creation or completion, medium, Name of Institution, location (if applicable), URL.

Vincent VanGogh. Self-Portrait With Straw Hat. 1887. Painting. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/436532 

Himsaini007. Librarian.png. 2016. Image. Wikimedia Commons. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Librarian.png.

Academic Article

One author

Footnote:
First name Last name, “Title of Article,” Journal title volume, issue (year): page number, accessed Month Date, Year. Link to article.

Michael Pagliaro,  "Is a picture worth a thousand words? Determining the criteria for graphic novels with literary merit,"  The English Journal103, 4 (2004): 34, accessed December 19, 2018. URL.

Bibliography:
Last name, First name. “Title of Article.” Journal title volume, issue (year): page range of article. Accessed Month Date, Year. Link to article.

Pagliaro, Michael. "Is a picture worth a thousand words? Determining the criteria for graphic novels with literary merit,"  The English Journal103, 4 (2004): 31-45. Accessed December 19, 2018. URL.

Multiple authors

Footnote:
First name Last name 1, First name Last name 2, and First name Last name 3. , “Title of Article,” Journal title volume, issue (year): page number, accessed Month Date, Year. Link to article.

Andrew Lepp, Jacob E. Barkley, and Aryn C. Karpinski. “The Relationship Between Cell Phone Use, Academic Performance, Anxiety, and Satisfaction with Life in College Students,” Computers in Human Behavior 31, 1 (2014): 345, accessed January, 8 2019. URL.

Bibliography:
Last name, first name 1, First name Last name 2, and First name Last name 3.  Journal title volume, issue (year): page range of article. Accessed Month Date, Year. Link to article.

Lepp, Andrew, Barkley, Jacob E. and Karpinski, Aryn C. “The Relationship Between Cell Phone Use, Academic Performance, Anxiety, and Satisfaction with Life in College Students,” Computers in Human Behavior 31, 1 (2014): 343-350. Accessed January, 8 2019. URL.

Webpage

Footnote:
Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Name of Website, Publishing Organization, publication or revision date if available, access date if no other date is available, URL.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “Asthma: Data, Statistics, and Surveillance,” 2016, https://www.cdc.gov/asthma/asthmadata.htm.

Bibliography:
Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Name of Website. Publishing organization, publication or revision date if available. Access date if no other date is available. URL.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, “Asthma: Data, Statistics, and Surveillance,” 2016, https://www.cdc.gov/asthma/asthmadata.htm.

Newspaper Article

Footnote:
Author first name Last name, “Title of the Article,” Newspaper (City, State), Month Date, Year.

Sapna Maheshwari, “Hold the Donuts, Says Newly Named Dunkin’,” The New York Times (national), September 25, 2018.

Bibliography:
Last name, First name. “Title of the Article,” Newspaper (City, State), Month Date, Year.

Maheshwari, S. “Hold the Donuts, Says Newly Named Dunkin’,” The New York Times (national), September 25, 2018.

Questions?

If you have any questions about your citations, email reference@annamaria.edu.

Mondor-Eagen Library | Anna Maria College
50 Sunset Lane, Paxton, Massachusetts 01612